Tyrone Rubin thinks and learns

Pitchfork Top 100 Tracks of 2009

Posted in Music by Tyrone Rubin on December 15, 2009


Pitchfork.com is one of my favourite music sites on the web. It is one of those few blogs/sites that I visit on a daily basis. Blogs and sites also become reliable and addictive. Take facebook for example, I think I could be addictive, and addictions are not always good. Why cant I just log onto facebook once a day or even better once a week, the reason is because I have an addictive personality or an extremist type personality. I cannot seem to do things in moderation. I am deviating from my post. Pitchfork is a great music site which has listed there top 100 songs. Yesterday they listed 100 – 50 which I was not nearly as concerned about as today’s 50 – 1. And as a pitchfork fan the list is somewhat predictable, but predictable in a good sweet musical way. Pitchfork is pretty predictable but predictable great at quenching my musical taste. I loved the list. I have gone through the top 50 list so far being 1 – 50 and have most of the tracks already and going to listen to the couple I have not yet listened. Much more exciting for me is the next couple days they are unveiling the list of the top 100 albums of 2009. I don’t feel like giving my predictions right now but can say that in the top 10 I am sure Grizzly Bears, Girls and Animal Collective will make it, will both Animal collectives EP and Album make it, I am not sure how EP’s will work but imagine that, both Animal collective albums in the top ten. Oh and I am pretty sure that the Dirty Projectors will make the top 10 or top 20 list. I will report back when the list is up. I cant wait. Thanks pitchfork for informing me of a great musical year! Keep up the amazing work.
I will end off with lyrics to Manic Depression by Jimi Hendrix who seemed to define music so poignantly in this song.

Manic depression is touching my soul
I know what I want but I just don’t know
How to, go about gettin’ it
Feeling sweet feeling,
Drops from my fingers, fingers
Manic depression is catchin’ my soul

Woman so weary, the sweet cause in vain
You make love, you break love
It’s all the same
When it’s, when it’s over, mama
Music, sweet music
I wish I could caress, caress, caress
Manic depression is a frustrating mess

Well, I think I’ll go turn myself off,
And go on down
All the way down
Really ain’t no use in me hanging around
In your kinda scene

Music, sweet music
I wish I could caress, caress, caress
Manic depression is a frustrating mess

Ow! ow!
Music sweet music sweet music
Sweet music sweet music
Hooo!

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

