Tyrone Rubin thinks and learns

28 Feb Sunday – Google Mail vs Yahoo Mail

Posted in Internet, Technology by Tyrone Rubin on February 28, 2010

Morning all, I am now going to be blogging very regularly, I hope. Since my interestes span from film, haviung the website The Film Lover Show, to commercials, productions, media, and all that that entails as I work as a researcher at South Africa’s top commercials production company Velocity Films. I have also an obcessive interest and pasison for the web and all that it offers. Asside from the before mentioned I have many other interests such as finance, photogprahy, music etc and will basically be blogging constantly (again – I hope) all my intereests. Using this blog as a type of journal to my life. A diary of sort.

My first post in a while is to let everyone know that my yahoo mail was hacked or some can say phished. Using a mac for the last couple years I have, so very fortunately, not been exposed to viruses, spyware or anti-virus and anti-spyware problems, computing life just works so beautifully on a mac. Thank you Steve Jobs for creating this beautiful product. I appreciate it all the time. So back to the email attack. I woke up to find my yahoo mailbox filled with more emails than usual. To my stressful surprise I later came to find out that everyone in my address book was emailed a link. It was a google site. For some of you who dont know, google allow you to create websites of sort, not blogs but sites, anyway I wont go into that now. But it was a link to a site created by that platform. I clicked the link and it was disabled. This perplexed me and worried me as I got emails from people saying that I spammed them. I am now really trying to use the internet for the good of myself and my businesses and if I a seen as a spammer then that really infrginesh on my future prospects in this space. I emailed yahoo and they sent a template reply saying I should change my passowrd, which I figured out before hand. I was hoping they would send an apology email to everyone, but unfortunately I was left to pick up the pieces. I still not have found a solution to the attack. I have changed all my other passwords on all my other accounts. I have tried to move everything to gmail until I have totally made the transition, but that might take some time. I wish I could send a mass apology to everyone who recieved that spam. But then it could also look like I am someone who is vulrnerable to attacks. The burning question I have, which I have accepted I might never have an answer to, is what happened. Was this a bot, was this a personal attack. What the heck was this. I have more details I will not divulge right now, but if someone ever reads this and has any thoughts I can run them through more of the technical aspects of the attack. There is also a little irony in this and that is the fact that I have been using yahoo mail for a decade probably, and all has been fine, and in tech one cannot stick with one product without at least trying others to see if there are better services out there. I have remained yahoo mail complacint for years and a couple months ago, prior to the attack obviously, I have been using gmail. Everything seemed quicker and better and with the addition of buzz a lot more fun, interactive and lovely. So in my opion in the war between yahoo mail and google mail. Google seem to be wininng in my opinion that is.
VS

Leave a Reply

